Lyme disease may be your life, but it ISN’T you…

“If you’re an underdog… physically disabled, if you don’t fit in, if you’re not as pretty as the others,

you can still be a hero.”
— Steve Guttenberg

    I was outside in the beautiful sunshine this afternoon walking very slowly due to the amount of pain I was in, but still smiling because of the sun and the warmth and the songs floating through the air from the birds, when suddenly a wave of discouragement crashed over me.

  As a middle-20’s young woman with no college degree, no career track in the making and living in my parent’s basement, I’m definitely not one of the “cool kids.”  I don’t fit the modern mold – in reality, my life is completely opposite the modern mold.  The discouragement that crashed over me had to do with not fitting in with the modern mold; where is MY degree, where is MY career, where is MY life of independence?

 This quote is true, however… as a chronically ill patient I have little to no control over my life right now.  As hard as that is for me, who said that you have to fit the modern mold – and by the way, it is the AMERICAN modern mold, not the international mold – to make your corner of the world a little brighter?  Who said that you have to have a college degree in order to touch someone’s life?

 I’m no hero… but I try to make my corner of the world brighter.  By doing so it makes me push aside the discouragement for a little longer. 

Leave a Reply

