Mixing Up Words… Sometimes I sound Ridiculous!

The other day, I was trying to explain something (I don’t remember) to someonemonkey-tongue (who knows).  This part I do remember: although the sentences were well formed in my brain, they were coming out all wrong.

  For example, the sentence in my head was formed as such: “Did you know that many insurances recognize Lyme disease and treat it with a short round of antibiotics, but chronic Lyme disease is a completely different story and often not recognized as a ‘real illness’?”

  This was how it came out: “Did you know that programs see chronic Lyme as not a real illness, I mean insurance company’s, you know, but Lyme disease itself, not chronic Lyme, you know, is treated with antibiotics, sometimes anyway, and it’s like, a few day’s worth anyway? I mean by doctors?”

  If you are not completely confused by this post already, I congratulate you; you have a much wiser, more alert and smarter brain than exists in my own head.

  But this often happens to me, and of course at the most ridiculous moments: a sentence in my head, well-formed and with proper English language that would impress a PhD graduate, comes out of my mouth with words all

JUMBLED…. OUT OF ORDER…. CONFUSED…. and so MIXED UP

that even I often stop and wonder what the heck I am trying to say. 

  LYMIES:  many of us have this symptom.  Let me encourage you: when this happens, know that it often seems ridiculous to others.  Just know that.  We cannot help that.  And after knowing and accepting that, GO WITH IT!  I often laugh and say,

“YOU KNOW, I HAVE MY OWN LANGUAGE… AND IF YOU CAN’T KEEP UP, I TRULY FEEL SORRY FOR YOU. I’M WORKING ON MY OWN DICTIONARY TOO…I’LL KEEP YOU POSTED.”

  Yes, you feel ridiculous.  I often feel discouraged and mad at myself, wondering why the heck I can’t even speak the one language I know. 

  But Lyme is to blame, and blame it we shall!  For our brains have been affected by this terrible disease, LYMIES;  often the part of our brain that affects our speech is inflamed and there is nothing wrong with US, as a person, but there is something wrong with our bodies.  (Did I mention LYME?)

 

  Take heart, LYMIES: and comment on this post if you experience this same symptom.  After 13 years of dealing with chronic Lyme disease, I have learned to laugh at myself when I can. 

May I help you do the same?

One thought on “Mixing Up Words… Sometimes I sound Ridiculous!

  1. I have this happen to me all the time!!!! Just today, I was trying to say the word “matches” but all I could get out was: “ch. . .ch. . . .ch. . . uh. . . ” Then I forgot what it was I was even trying to talk about! 🙂

Leave a Reply

