“THE LOSSES OF LYME:” HOBBIES

Sports.skating

Crafts.

Art.images (1)

Travel.

Some call these hobbies; some would refer to these as extra activities in their life.  Regardless, chronic illness often robs you of something you LOVE to do.  Letting go of these hobbies can be extremely difficult and create a scar on our soul, knowing that our lives are changed, knowing that we have been robbed of things we love.

 SPORTS

     – I took figure skating classes during my teen years and have been nearly every book on the market detailing the directions for forward skating, backward skating, jumping, skating on the edges of your blades as you create a short dance with turns and twists. 
 I loved it. I loved every moment of it.  I have never been sports-oriented or gifted in athletic activities.  However, figure skating was, to me, like dancing; my teacher once told me that I “looked like a ballerina” because I was so determined to perfect each skill I learned.  “You have no speed though,” my teacher added.  It was true; speed required extra strength, a requirement I failed to possess.
  When I was 24 years old, I made up a board that contained my “SIX-YEAR GOAL” and posted it in my bathroom so it would constantly remind me of where I wanted to be in life, by the time my 30th birthday came along.  One of the goals I wrote was “being able to figure skate again.”
  I have met other young people with chronic Lyme who have had to give up athletic activities dear to their heart, due to the amazing gift they had in this area.  Giving up something you love can burn a hole in your heart as your realize that you have absolutely no control over this decision.
  CRAFTS
  I have never been a crafty person. I have no patience for sewing, knitting, etc, although I was taught all these skills as a young girl.  The ONLY craft I do truly enjoy, however, is scrapbooking.  I’ve created scrapbooks for each of my sisters, using photos that contained, for the most part, just that particular sister and myself.  I created a beautiful scrapbook for my parents one Christmas that detailed the lives of their daughters as they grew into young women.  Being a perfectionist meant spending at least one hour on each page of the scrapbook.
  Three drawers contain all the scrapbooking supplies I obtained: colorful pages, specialty pages, stamps, glitter that would melt onto the page, specialty scissors, specialty stickers…they all await the day I can again take up this activity. For now, even the thought of spending an entire hour of my day on a page in a scrapbook makes me tired. I’d love to do it; however, I have no control over the fact that I simply can’t at this time.

While there are so many others I could name, the idea is this: sometimes, hobbies fall by the wayside when health becomes all-consuming.

  Unfortunately, this idea often becomes truth for chronically ill Lyme patients.

Leave a Reply

