I Got One Too!!

liebster  I re-blogged the post below by juliesspoonfulofsugar,
both because this blogger kindly chose to nominate ME for the same award, and because I think this idea is AWESOME!!   I’m very excited to be nominated
and appreciate the fact that others have recognized my blog as one worth both reading and sharing.
 Below, I have answered the TEN QUESTIONS given me by juliesspoonfulofsugar.
Read HER story in the post below (or at http://juliesspoonfulofsugar.wordpress.com/2013/10/13/wow-an-award/)
Here are my questions and answers:
1. WHAT IS YOUR EARLIEST CHILDHOOD MEMORY?

I was around two years old and my family was leaving California, where my dad had worked for several years at the Air Force base in L.A.  I remember riding in our Suburban and passing St Mary’s hospital, and I remember watching the busy highway traffic pass us by.  I’m an Air Force Brat; moving is in my blood!

2. IF YOU WERE AN ANIMAL, WHAT WOULD YOU BE?

Ahh! I have asked myself this question MANY times because, who knows, I may serve another, different life on this earth after my life as a human being, and if that is the case, I am TOTALLY going to choose my fate by returning as a LADYBUG.  It’s not an animal exactly…but answering with “A MOOSE” would just be too easy, don’t you think? I mean, who WOULDN’T want to come back as such a powerful, masterful, and kick-butt animal? Even so, I believe a ladybug fits my personality better.

3. WHAT WAS YOUR 1ST CAR?

A beautiful red Honda Civic, appropriately named “Juliet” because of her fanciful looks and powerful heart (engine).

4. WHAT IS YOUR CURRENT OBSESSION?
The last season of “The Office” just arrived on Netflix and I am quickly catching up on one of my favorite shows.
5. WHAT ARE YOUR TOP 3 FAVORITE HOBBIES OR ACTIVITIES?

I love to read and am currently devoted to Elizabeth George’s “Inspector Lindley” series, 2) I love to watch TV shows on Netflix, and 3) I love to snuggle with my snuggle-bug dog, Bella.

6. WHAT IS THE COLOR SCHEME IN YOUR LIVING ROOM?
A light, peaceful green garnishes the walls, while burgundy, gold, and different shades of green season the room through flower-filled vases, furniture that consists of a light beige couch, deep burgundy sitting-room couch and a sitting-room chair that contains all the colors in my scheme. Deep brown and black curtains proudly fall almost to the floor as they silently support the color scheme, while side tables and bookshelves in the same deep colors allow the peaceful but royal greens and golds and reds to wash over the spirit of those who visit.
7. DO YOU CONSIDER YOURSELF AN AUDITORY, VISUAL, OR KINISTETIC LEARNER?

Visual, for certain.

8. WHAT 1 EVENT HAS MOST INFLUENCED YOUR LIFE?
At the age of 18 my sister and I vacationed in Puerto Rico for a month.  Words cannot express the beauty of the beaches and upon my return, I had a spirit full of stupidly stubborn determination that carried me from being bedridden, buried in a black pit of depression and pain, to finishing high school, getting my driver’s license, beginning a job and studying at my community college for a degree.  Puerto Rico, for reasons that baffled even me, gave me the stubbornness of spirit that allows me, even now, to push myself harder than I ever knew my body and soul could be pushed in order to have a LIFE.
9. DO YOU PREFER SALTY OR SWEET SNACKS?

Sweet!

10. WHAT RANDOM ACT OF KINDNESS BY SOMEONE TOOK YOU MOST BY SURPRISE?
I had set up an online fundraiser in order to raise funds for my ongoing treatment of chronic Lyme disease.  Describing my personal story with this illness, I reached out as I stubbornly dove into treatment after treatment, finding small successes here and there but no actual healing for my battered body. These small victories came at a very, very costly price and my pockets were emptied time after time.
After setting up this site with my personal story, a gentleman sent me both monetary support and a note, filled with words that spoke from such a GOOD HEART that I actually had tears in my eyes.  Although I had, in a way, worked with this guy in the past, he had taken another post but as it was within a close distance to my location of work, he was able to stop by a few days following this post and exchange a few words.  Ever since, I have thought of him when I think of someone with a good heart.  His random act spoke volumes and made a true impression on me, an impression that has only grown since that act. 
In setting up that site, I never expected the gifts I received from both distant acquaintances and those close to me.  MANY acts of kindness were sent my way, acts that were never expected; by closing date, these acts added up to an amazing number and allowed me to pursue more treatments for my disease.
 
4 thoughts on “I Got One Too!!

  1. I love the Ladybug response. 🙂 I am a bit of a fan girl of any British TV. I wish they would make more Inspector Lynley episodes. I wish I could say the same of the new Foyle’s War series. It is a bit predictable.

    • I agree – the books are SO good and I have enjoyed watching all of the Inspector Lynley episodes. Foyle’s War was a disappointment to me, but the Inspector Lewis episodes are really well done.

    • I completely agree! I enjoyed the Inspector Lynley episodes as well; have you read the books? The author is now one of my favorite to read and I’m quite picky about books.
      Foyle’s War did not capture my attention either. The British series “Marple” was quite well done, however, and I recommend those on Netflix!

Leave a Reply

