My Story

Lyme Disease

I grew up a pretty healthy kid, but my life was turned upside down in 2006 after doing clean-up work for a school project on the Cahaba River in Birmingham, Alabama.  I had no idea that spending a couple of hours picking up trash in such a beautiful, tranquil location could bring so much pain and suffering.  A few weeks later, I was at a dance competition and woke up sick with a high fever, debilitating fatigue, body aches, and a constant severe headache. I slept for 5 weeks straight and missed a ton of school.  I was diagnosed with Mono and never recovered. I began having chronic sinus infections as well as new and sudden onset of allergies to a long list of things. After a 2-week round of antibiotics, I would feel better, but as soon as I stopped, I would get sick all over again.

I struggled…

View original post 1,118 more words

Leave a Reply

