“THE LOSSES OF LYME:” SELF-ESTEEM

 self-esteem pic 2 The side effects of Lyme can change your body in many ways, including both weight gain and weight loss, as well as an altered change psychologically that can leave you wondering if you are really YOU because, well, you don’t FEEL like you. 
Good self-esteem can be altered by these changes, unfortunately.
 
  I’m certainly living proof of this; three years into getting sick, my body had amazingly packed on a good 30 pounds. There was no reason for this, considering I was barely eating after trying every diet under the sun after cutting out bread, drinking gallons of water daily, juicing fresh vegetables for my “meals,” cutting out sugar and preservatives and “indulging” my body in liver and colon cleanses on a regular basis. Throughout this, I was also navigating the early years of being a teenager and the pressures I felt as a young woman.
  I had horrible, horrible self-esteem. It took years of pain, an eating disorder, and the truly miraculous rescue of my dog (who then in turn, rescued me from my eating disorder) to bring about a sliver of appreciation for the person I had become.
self-esteem pic 1
  Now, as my weight again fluctuates however it wants, thanks to the intense Treatment I am currently undergoing for Lyme, my self-esteem also bends to and fro as I ask myself this question:
 is it more important to look and feel good, or to be healthy?
 Lyme forces us to answer. Often we have to choose the answer that, at the time, is best for our bodies…
just not the body we see in the mirror every day.
Leave a Reply

