Sorry Again, I Have Lyme

  A week or so ago, I invited a friend to dinner.  We hadn’t seen each other in quite a while and I wanted to catch up on their life.  When the day of the set appointment arrived however, I had to cancel; my Lyme was flaring up and I couldn’t safely get out of the house and drive, let alone keep up an intelligent conversation with another human being.
“Sorry, I have Lyme.” It’s a true reason for not being able to do something, although many people do not understand how complicated the disease can get and how Lyme can get in the way of life so very often.
  I rescheduled with my friend, hoping that the next date would bring sunny skies and less pain. Unfortunately, that day was worse; I couldn’t even get out of bed all afternoon.
“Sorry again, I have Lyme.”  I tried explaining my circumstances as best as I could, in such a way that someone without Lyme would understand.  Instead of rescheduling yet again, I suggested we catch up over text messaging, something I can do in bed or on the couch fairly easily. THAT plan worked.
  It bugs me when Lyme gets in the way of my life. But I have no control over the matter and must except what each day brings.  It’s discouraging when basic social outings cannot be accomplished because of how ill I feel, and depressing when I must stay inside on my couch instead of enjoy the company of friends.  However, as I learn my limits, I learn that I can still communicate via text or phone with friends and family. It isn’t the same thing as actually seeing them, but it is better than having no communication whatsoever. And it’s certainly better than saying, again and again, “sorry, I have Lyme.”
2 thoughts on “Sorry Again, I Have Lyme

  1. Another great post dear Shelby! Tough times when you can’t even get together with someone you’d like to see. The part about coming to grips with limits really spoke to me in a very positive way. Thanks!

    2 Peter 1:4 stood out to me this morning as I was caught in some negative (“stinkin”) thinking:

    Whereby are given unto us exceeding great promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust.

    Maybe it’ll help a little to think about the promises, even when the present seems so dark.

    I love you dear daughter! -Dad

Leave a Reply

