Poopy Events Happen

  It’s a little after noon and my eyes are droopy and drowsy from lack of sleep. My body is out of sorts from the schedule I have kept recently. A week ago, my mom had a heart attack.
It was a shock to all of us.  My mom, so strong, heart attack?
Being with her was number one priority, girl with head downso driving an hour to the hospital and then spending hours by her bedside was beyond priceless. However, spending days at the hospital, getting home late, making sure there was food in the fridge for those of us at home while keeping up with my own health regiment was a challenge.

 

  You never realize how much a person does until they are unable to do it. My mom returned home and is doing great but has orders from the doctor to take it easy.  Since my mother is on full-time rest (as she should be!), I have had to kick in a little more with the house chores.

 

  For example, this morning I was lying on the couch absolutely exhausted and completely out of it; my brain was so spaced out and befuddled. I got up to refill my water bottle and noticed there were a lot of dirty dishes needing to be cleaned. As tired as I was, I did the dishes and cleaned the kitchen. Please understand that when I am absolutely exhausted house chores usually go by the wayside, because I simply have to rest and let my body relax. However, when poopy events happens, sometimes we LYMIES are forced to respond and get into the grind of home duties.

 

  Yep, poopy events happen and those of us who are chronically ill are forced to put aside our illness to care for someone else, work jobs or raise children (to name a few of life’s many duties). Some LYMIES are able to do this but many chronically ill LYMIES find these types of duties very hard to fulfill. Crippling pain and broken-down exhaustion make them, well, dead on their feet.

 

I want to share with you some of the poopy events that have occurred in my own personal life:

  • – I had to give up my dream of becoming a classical pianist
  • – I had to give up my dream of finishing college quickly (it will probably take until I’m 80)
  • – I had to give up working a job that I intensely enjoyed
  • – I had to give up a long-term relationship
  • – I had to give up my dream of being healed quickly

 

My mom is slowly recovering, but even after she recovers I want to step in and do more around the house, if at all possible. I admit, I am still consumed by my many serious health issues, but if I can just help a little, just a little bit…life wouldn’t be so poopy.
2 thoughts on “Poopy Events Happen

  1. Oh no, so sorry to hear about your mom! Glad she’s ok, but you also need to look after yourself, which I’m sure you already know. It’s so hard when trying to look after others while also looking out for yourself, but if you completely crash and burn from overdoing it you won’t be any good to your mom either. :/

    Take care 🙂

    • Thank you so much for your thoughtful reply! I apologize I did not respond until now. I completely agree with you and am doing my best to keep up with my health while trying to help my Mom as much as I can. It doesn’t always go well, but each day is a new day.
      Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

