It’s Lyme Disease Awareness Month!

lyme disease awareness ribbon

As of today, the month known to many of my acquaintance as “Lyme Disease Awareness Month” has begun.

Lyme disease is one of the most stigmatized, misunderstood diseases known to mankind.  And yet, research shows it to be an epidemic, especially in the United States (even bigger than AIDS).  The majority of doctors believe Lyme disease can be “cured” with a short round of antibiotics, while those few doctors brave enough to meet this disease head-on have suffered for it.  As patients, we just want the best care; leave the politics and controversy regarding the CDC and IDSA at the door, Doc! Unfortunately, Lyme is very much a political battle but thanks to celebrities including Avril Lavigne, Yolanda Foster and Amy Tan, the general public is becoming more educated about this extremely serious and frustrating illness.

I myself have suffered from this disease for over sixteen years. Because of the inaccurate testing available I was not properly diagnosed until ten tears into my illness. By this time I had been bedridden and close to death multiple times.  I have firsthand experience with the exasperating aspects of Lyme: doctors have repeatedly told me that my problems are “all in my head,” friends have mysteriously disappeared, and jobs, boyfriends and higher education have been taken away from me numerous times.

This is all through no fault of my own. I did not ask for this disease, nor did I want this life. The simple truth is that ANYONE can get infected with Lyme and suffer the consequences. It does not discriminate.

Despite not ever wanting this life, this is what I have and I am doing my best to make the most of it. Several years ago I started this blog to share my story and hopefully encourage others while perhaps saving them from some of the pain I have endured. For the next month, I will be blogging daily about different aspects of Lyme disease and how it has affected my life. This is to bring more awareness to the month of May, known as “Lyme Disease Awareness Month.”

I invite you to follow these posts either through WordPress (where you can sign up for email notifications), my Facebook page, or my Twitter account. Let’s get started!

Leave a Reply

