Baking Favorites

When you are chronically ill, you often have to stick to a restrictive diet.baking fav pic

This usually translates into, “you do all the cooking.”

Previously, I hated cooking. My mom, bless her heart, taught me how in my teens but I just didn’t see the point.  Then, I went on the Paleo diet.

Suddenly, not only was I gluten-free, I was grain-free, dairy-free and of course, sugar-free. It was all about the vegetables, nuts and meat.

Since going on the Paleo diet I have become a much better cook and an even better BAKER. Granted, most of the things I make are considered “weird” by the average American, but I make “weird” taste good!

Take, for example, the dessert I made this week: Chocolate Coconut Cream Pie. Yes, it was sugar-free, dairy-free and grain-free. And, it was amazing!

Or consider the smoothie I made that had cauliflower and squash in it.  You couldn’t even taste the vegetables and it was nutritious as well as delicious.

Let’s be honest, when you feel sick all the time, healthy bakes and yummy shakes are an easy way to uplift your spirit.

I love Coconut Flour Cookies, Lemon Blueberry muffins, and Banana bread.

If any of my readers try these recipes, or have favorite recipes of their own to share, message me and let me know – I would love to hear from you about your own baking experiences!

 

Leave a Reply

