A Day In My Life

A Day in My Life picSome people have this idea that I sit around all day.

Nothing could be farther from the truth.

I may not rush around like the typical young adult, flitting from high-pressure jobs to parties to adventuresome travels. However, I work exceptionally hard and am more responsible about my health than many others my age.

Let’s look at a day in my life.

After getting up in the morning, I make sure to drink filtered water with fresh lemon juice added. Personally, I’m not a huge fan of water but it is absolutely essential to good health and the lemon juice makes it much more palatable. Some add Lemon essential oil instead of fresh lemon juice.

Next, my first round of pills. My medication/supplement/herbal/homeopathic bottles take up four shelves on a bookshelf but I have them arranged so that it is easy to remember which pills are AM and which are PM. Even so, making sure I have taken all the correct pills takes a little while.

Before eating, I have begun drinking Apple Cider Vinegar. This recipe is full of antioxidants and helps to keep blood sugar levels even while aiding in digestion.

Breakfast often consists of scrambled eggs with freshly cut onions and an additional vegetable (kale, anyone?) If scrambled eggs take too much energy I have found some excellent recipes for vegetable shakes. Not only are they an excellent way to get veggies down, they often have extra yummy ingredients such as pumpkin, chia seeds or lemon juice.

Later in the day, I try to fit in some exercise along with time in my infrared sauna. Currently my exercise is limited because of my chronic illness but most days, a 30 minute walk is doable. If I can walk longer or add in some additional exercises, it’s a good day.  After staying in the sauna for at least 20 minutes, I take a cold shower to wash away all the toxins.

 Because of the immense amount of chemicals added to shampoo, conditioner and body wash, I make my own and always use those in the shower.

Time to rest! When lying on the couch I love to do a castor oil pack. They have many uses and I have found them helpful with liver problems, digestion issues and inflammation. Keeping the pack on for an hour or two is best. Drinking plenty of lemon water during this time is essential, considering what I’ve just put my body through with the exercise and sauna.

Throughout the day I also enjoy drinking lots of green tea. Green tea is full of beneficial qualities and can help stimulate both weight loss and brain function.

Before chowing down on dinner, I drink more of my Apple Cider Vinegar concoction. Fresh salad is a favorite of mine for supper, although I fully admit that for years I hated the taste of fresh vegetables. Adding olives and a homemade dressing makes my salad exceptionally good. Since I stick to a Paleo diet, carbs are my enemy, but making some kind of meat (organic if possible) is necessary for getting the proper amount of protein in my diet.

Dessert is never a bad idea in my opinion, as long as it’s healthy. Just yesterday I made my own nut butter (AMAZING) and my take on Flaxseed cookies. Both require a little bit of work and energy but are grain-free, sugar free and full of omega-3’s.

Next comes the evening round of pills – yay!

Getting a good night’s sleep is a constant battle for me. While I do have prescription medications that help me sleep, I believe it is important to do what I can to help myself using natural alternatives. Magnesium and chamomile are always taken in the evening, and often I make myself a cup of tea (tangerine, de-caf green tea or chamomile tea are excellent for the evenings).

Essential oils have many uses and when trying to relax in the evening, I often put some Lavender in my diffuser and turn that on at night. If I’m struggling with anxiety, I put some Lemon or Lavender essential oil directly on my skin.  Headaches are a part of daily life, and using Peppermint oil often helps diminish the pain.

Meditation, yoga stretches or deep breathing exercises can also be helpful when struggling to get to sleep.

Of course, in between all of this I work, take care of my dog and help around the house, while keeping up with basic chores such as additional cooking and cleaning.  I also spend several hours per day on my blog, as well as researching healthy living ideas and inspirations for an ever-increasing healthy lifestyle.

Still think I sit around all day?

13 thoughts on “A Day In My Life

  1. I would love some of your recipes! I can’t eat anything with sugar, dairy, wheat or nuts. I also can’t eat fruits, so the lemon water is out for me…I was drinking that for months before I figured out that was probably giving me the light stinging I was feeling all day long! I also use melatonin for sleep at times…it’s all natural!

    • I used melatonin for years as well! I’m so glad it works for you, it’s a great option for sleep.
      I have a bunch of recipes – would you like dinner dishes, veggie ideas, baked goods?
      I don’t eat sugar, dairy, or grains. Also, I can have some chia and flax seeds – can you have those? Can you use almond flour or coconut flour?

  2. I haven’t tried the chia or flax seeds…I can’t use almond flour; I made a recipe w/ almond flour and had a very bad reaction! I got all red in the face!

    I have coconut flour here and haven’t tried it yet simply because of the reaction w/ the almond flour. But I’d love some recipes for baked goods at any rate…I want to try the coconut flour just to see if I can tolerate it.

  3. It sounds like you have come up with a great routine. That’s one of the things I have struggled with so far. Between still being undiagnosed and the ever changing symptoms, I haven’t been able to figure out what’s helpful or hurtful. Then trying to balance that with work and three kids, it often seems out of reach. I’m glad you were able to find something that works!

    • With kids and work, life can be CRAZY!! To others who are struggling I often recommend a few changes in lifestyle, instead of a kind of “routine.” For example, green tea instead of coffee (or with, depending on how much caffeine you need), magnesium whenever you feel achy, chamomile at night for sleep (homeopathic chamomile can be given to kids too). Gluten-free flour instead of white flour, honey/maple syrup/stevia instead of sugar.
      For me, my day is more about these changes and not a routine – because let’s face it, as spoonies, each day is different from the last!!
      I hope you find the proper diagnosis soon- I understand that frustration, it took me 10 years to find out what was going on with my body. I wish you well – keep fighting, fellow warrior!

  4. Pingback: Feverfew…a migraine miracle? | shelby's LIFE WITH LYME

Leave a Reply

