My DIY Beauty Attempts

diy-products-pic 

For the past year or so, I have been attempting to reduce the chemical and toxic load on my body by making my own beauty products.

 

 A few have worked, a few have not.

 

 When I realized that my high-end shampoo and conditioner, products I had been using for years, were both full of toxins and tested on animals, I began searching for an alternative.  Finding a shampoo that was both cruelty-free and chemical-free, without paying a fortune, was more difficult than expected.

 

 And so, I decided to try making my own.  It was a simple recipe and one that received rave reviews from a fellow blogger: coconut milk, castille soap and essential oils.  The castille soap was fairly inexpensive and ordered through Amazon (I am one of their best customers).  After spending a few minutes measuring out the ingredients and shaking the completed product to within an inch of its life, I put my new shampoo in the shower and sampled it the next morning.

healthy-hair-pic

 What can I say…I loved, loved, loved it! It thoroughly cleaned my hair and left it shiny and oil-free.  For the next 7-8 months, I used my homemade shampoo without fail and even made a few extra batches, passing them around to family and friends.

 

 

 And then, a few months ago…the shampoo stopped working. It left my hair heavy and greasy, and trying to style it in the morning was a pain in the rear.  I didn’t understand what was happening, so I tried several alterations to the basic recipe (including olive oil, apple cider vinegar, and different combinations of essential oils).  

 

 My hair wasn’t having it.  And so, the search for a new shampoo began…again. More on that later.

 

 Other projects have included homemade body lotion, homemade deodorant and homemade body scrub.

 

All of these attempts have been working fairly well, I’m happy to say! My skin tends to get very dry and the body lotion needed to be luxurious for my skin without having the parabens and what-else that normal lotions include. So, I bought organiz beeswax (again from Amazon), combined it with essential oils and  Vitamin E, and whipped up a batch of body lotion.  

 

 The lotion has been excellent for my skin and works exceptionally well with the body scrub I have been making.

diy-body-scrub-pic

 This body scrub is one of my best attempts at DIY.  It is incredibly simple and takes two minutes to make.  In fact, this is one of the most popular products with my family and friends (I have made them several batches and they all rave about it).  The body scrub needs a base such as sea salt or sugar, combined with an oil such as coconut oil or olive oil, and with a few essential oils added it, the result is incredible.

 

 Now, here’s the real genius with this body scrub: after using it on legs and arms, I rinse it off, then shave where needed.  Since using this scrub I have not cut myself once.

 

 I am fairly careful with shaving so it isn’t as if I was cutting myself all the time before, but let’s all admit that when shaving around difficult areas such as knees or ankles, it is incredible easy to make a small slice in your skin without intending to.  This body scrub has kept me cut-free AND clean!

 

 The deodorant has been around for years, thanks to one of my sisters who introduced me to homemade deodorant after we realized the high amount of aluminum in the common brands (aluminum has been linked to Alzheimer’s and cancer).  Again, it is very simple to make: coconut oil, baking soda and essential oils.  It keeps me smelling fresh all day long, even during days of intense heat such as the ones many of us have been experiencing.

 

 The bottom line is, if you have coconut oil, sea salt, castille soap and essential oils hanging around in your home, you too can make your own beauty products.  Many recipes exist for the items I have mentioned, but Pinterest has become a kindred spirit and can give you many creative ideas if you want to try anything.

 

 Now, the finale regarding the shampoo situation.
 Because essential oils have become so important in my life, I decided to try doTERRA’s shampoo and conditioner (again, I found it on Amazon but of course you can order it from doTERRA).  These products, so far, are working amazingly well.  Although a tad on the expensive side, they are cruelty-free, made with many essential oils and will likely last awhile considering I only need a small amount for each use (I have medium-length, thick hair and a dime-size amount is more than enough).  

  Keep posted for more DIY beauty attempts and how they work for me!

3 thoughts on “My DIY Beauty Attempts

  1. Pingback: The Issue with MOLD | shelby's LIFE WITH LYME

Leave a Reply

